#TCOT Round 2: Convince Me I Am Wrong on Auto Loans and I Will Publicly Recant

One of the first things that drew me to new media applications like Twitter and FriendFeed is the way in which they exponentially expanded our ability to share our thoughts and engage in debates over ideas. The downside to all of this is that once we choose to put our ideas and opinions out there there is no taking them back.If your assertions are proved wrong you can either retain your credibility and acknowledge the error of your ways and recant or dig in and make it clear that you are no friend of truth.

I don’t ever want to believe in or continue defending something that has been proven wrong so when I directed this post at the #TCOT (Top Conservatives on Twitter) community that I have recently become a part of I did so in the hopes that it would bring me a greater depth of argumentation than the rampant hyperbole I had been exposed to up until that point.

If the central goal and driving force of the #TCOT community is going to be something other than the advancement of realistic, practical and achievable solutions that are founded on conservative principles and that provide the best possible outcome for our nation then I want nothing to do with it. Here is the community’s chance to prove their intentions.

As one who believes that, generally speaking, limited government and freer markets provide the greatest benefit for the greatest number of people I would GREATLY prefer that our government not loan money to our beleaguered auto makers. However, I also mentioned that I believe the world we live in does not usually allow us to choose between exactly what we want and what we do not want. Our choices are almost always between options that each carry with them their own harms an demands that we decide which option is best.

In my previous post I laid out some of the general assumptions that have lead to my support of providing the auto makers with loans. I have never and will never claim to be the final authority on in-depth economic theory and analysis. Like most of you the best I can do is listen to the arguments, research and educate myself on the issue and decide which policies I will support based on my own common-sense understanding of which option will provide the best outcome.

Even so it is undeniable that the dynamics of the current state of our economy and the intricacies of the auto manufacturing industry provide an enormously complex web of considerations that must be taken into account when deciding whether or not to support the extension of loans to the auto industry.

As a result I wanted to provide a research document that clearly lays out a detailed anaylsis of the potential costs associated with providing the loans as well as a conservative effort of the possible outcomes of the further collapse of part or all of the auto manufacturing industry.

Here is a report that the Anderson Economic Group recently released clearly laying out what they believe are the likely costs of providing or denying the auto makers access to these loans.

Even though it is not the full report it very clearly lays out the assumptions and supporting evidence. Take a look at it and share your thoughts on where the report or I am wrong in our thinking.

If you can provide me with enough logical arguments I will happily change my opinion and publicly recant my support for the loans.

I am curious though – if you find enough evidence to convince you that it will do more harm not to provide the loans – will you do the same?

In the interest of full disclosure my current employer as well as the company that owns our parent company do work for Ford Motor Company. However, these are my own personal opinions and should in no way be taken to reflect or represent the thoughts of my employer or our parent companies.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

