Dear Early Adopters Please Pull Your Heads Out of

…the dirt. Sorry to do that – you thought I was going to say sand didn’t you?

I don’t currently have the energy to pull together all the blog posts, comments and FriendFeed threads that have lead to this post so I will be brief.

Stop freaking flogging yourselves about the cycle you go through when you hear about new applications that have the potential to do everything we all believe our current level of technology should allow us to do. It is important that you do exactly what you are doing (OK, one link so you can see a description of the cycle I am referencing).

That cycle is extremely valuable as vets these new products, identifying their weaknesses, shaping their interfaces, determining their value, etc. If you, as an uber-user, who appreciates these new products because you readily see their potential value can’t figure out a freaking need for a product WHO WILL? No one.

PS Keep the FriendFeed fire hose on – I’ve learned more in the past month than in the last 6 combined!

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “Dear Early Adopters Please Pull Your Heads Out of”

  1. Louis Gray Says:

    So… let me get this straight. Was my post a good thing, or am I flogging myself?

  2. aureliusmaximus Says:

    lol your post was great – several of the “wow this really made me think about how poor my behavior has been lately, I’m such a louse” comments it sparked on FriendFeed are what I am referencing.

  3. New Comm Biz » Content Explosion and Re-Aggregation Says:

    […] it turns out that Marco, who has a great (and much shorter rant) about FriendFeed and early adopters, shares my taste in […]

  4. sandrar Says:

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

Leave a comment